Saturday 24 August 2019
Starting 15:00 for 15:30


To encourage, support and uplift classically trained music students in solo performances for ages up to and including 25 years from diverse cultures and backgrounds.


To maintain the standard of excellence and to extend this local classical music competition for solo performers to a competition of national status.


This competition commenced in 2005 after the death of Philip H Moore, father to Victoria Bennett. Victoria knew of the music department through the theory classes her son attended and decided it would be a good idea to start a competition in memory of her late father. Her step-mother Norma joined Victoria by donating 50% of the funds required for this competition. Apart from cash prizes, Lovemore Music Centre also supports this event by sponsoring gift vouchers. Elize Kruger and Bevan Graham set up the rules and regulations but unfortunately Bevan left South Africa for Scotland before the first competition was held. Since 2006, a small team of no more than four people at a time has been actively involved in this competition. After Victoria's sudden passing earlier this year, Corne and Elize has taken over the administration of this competition.


Since its inception, this competition has had a very high standard. This standard has increased as the years have gone by and is now considered to be one of the highlights of the Gauteng musical calendar in terms of quality of music presented. According to one adjudicator Marian Friedman who wrote after the 2012 Semi Finals and Gala “I have never found anything so difficult as yesterday’s decisions (all credit to the standard of the Philip H Moore musicians which exceeded all expectations and level) and I had to really think and discuss in depth as to our choices.

It was a privilege for me to have been part of this competition which is rapidly becoming a superb platform for international contestants. In fact, the standard yesterday was on an international par and couldn’t have got much better. I would like the other participants to know that they are winners in their own right and will win at some point with that standard of performance. They raised the level of the competition to superb heights”.

The adjudicators are selected from a very small group of highly trained individuals who are currently involved with the classic musical industry. We have used the following during our preliminary and/or Second Round and/or Gala evenings: Jenny Harzon, Chantie Minnaar, Dr Tinus Botha, Waldo Weyer, Truida van der Walt, Dr Fanie Jooste, Anneke Lamont, Mandy Low, Professor John Hinch, Professor Wessel van Wyk, Serge Cuca, Peta-Ann Holdcroft, Carel Henn, Marian Friedman, Paulina Burdakova, George Fazakas, Sean Adams, Pienaar Fourie, Arisa Voges and Malcolm Nay. Each year we try to add a new name to expand our choices in the future.

The Category F finalists have been varied, but with the main instrument being piano has resulted in the piano being the majority winning instrument. Jacques-Pierre Malan (Cello) won 2006, Meghan Katz (Voice) 2007, Julia Hong (Piano) 2008, Ammiel Bushakewitz (Piano) 2009, Junnan Sun (Clarinet) 2010, Richard Rheeder (Piano) 2011, Andrew Munro (Piano) 2012, Willem de Beer (Piano) 2013; Palesa Malieloa (Voice) 2014 and Brian Bae (Piano) 2015. Many other instruments other than piano are played, they being harp, recorder, flute, percussion, guitar, violin, cello, trumpet, trombone, saxophone, viola and of course, for Category F – voice as well.

If you think you are a Musician of Note and are serious about your trade, and wish to test your talents amongst some of the best in the country, read the Rules with attached applicable Entry Forms and related documents.

An announcement will be made at the Gala event of 2019 concerning the future of the Philip H Moore Music Competition.

Ticket sales:

Saturday 24 August 2019
Starting 15:00 for 15:30

Adults - R160   Children, Pensioners, Students - R110


Brooklyn Theatre (012 460 6033)
Greenlyn Village Centre
C/o Thomas Edison and 13th Streets
Menlo Park


  1. UBER
  2. GAUTRAIN Time table for SUNDAY concerts at 15:00
  3. DKS is an exclusive chauffeur service. Offering 24 Hour group or individual short or long distance transfers.